Socks With Sarah!

20140314-112552.jpg
The Socks with Sarah KAL started two months ago today so I thought I would do a little update!

I have knitted FOUR pairs of socks! For someone who was not a sock knitter I feel incredibly proud of this achievement! My sock drawer is well on its way to being filled with gorgeous handknitted socks!

20140314-112834.jpg

If you haven’t heard about the Socks with Sarah KAL -where have you been?? Haha! Basically, its a KAL where you knit socks everyday-just a little bit; but to be honest the rules are pretty lax so you wont be kicked out and banished for not knitting socks everyday – just as much as you can! It is definitely not too late to join in – see the ravelry group here for more details!

So far I have managed to knit socks every single day! Some days this has literally been across one dpn, but still it is every day!

My recent sock knitting progress has been a little slow. I have two pairs currenly on the needle.

20140314-113330.jpg
These are broken seed stitch socks! They’re worked with two yarns, one plain and one variegated. I am TOTALLY in love with this pattern! Im about half way down the foot of the first sock.

20140314-113839.jpg
The second socks are Samhain, I’m knitting them toe-up, two at a time and I’m just at the heel turn! Love this pattern, but the cabling makes them quite slow so they’re more of a long term project!

20140314-114311.jpg

Hasn’t the weather been gorgeous recently, I have managed to get in a bit of sunshine knitting!

Lots of love
Shoe
Xxxx

The Golden Skein – Tornado over London

20140315-082749.jpg
I have been desparate to share this first quarters TGS offerings, and now all the parcels are safely in the arms of their owners I can!

If you havent heard of The Golden Skein, I wrote about the trial club on my blog here.

This quarters inspiration picture was of a Tornado (as in fighter plane not swirling whirlpool of wind) over London. I love knitting in greys and I knew i would love the yarns produced for this picture and I was not wrong!

20140315-082844.jpg
The first skein was from a company whom i came across as Yarndale, the Yarn Garden. The yarn base is called manna ash in sock and is a 50/50 merino/ silk blend. It is so soft and the colours of pale grey to almost silver are just stunning!

I have already cast on a new project in this, its an infinity cowl called Vesper.

20140315-083059.jpg
The yarn is perfect for the pattern and now I’ve figured the pattern out I’m steaming ahead (its a well written pattern but the sort where you need three pages of the pattern at the same time to start with…….).

20140315-082951.jpg
The second yarn is by Hedgehog Fibres, a new company to me! The yarn is an 80/20 BFL/nylon mix with a high definition twist. The colours in this yarn are stunning, whilst it has a grey base it has gorgeous hues of blue and yellow subtly in the background (check me out describing yarn like its wine!). Ive already chosen the pattern, another Louise Tilbrook design (she is fast becoming my favorite sock designer) Honeycomb Cables. I’m itching to cast on but I have to finish other socks before I can start on this.

20140315-083414.jpg
The final yarn was from another dyer I wasn’t familiar with Dye for Yarn, they’re based in Germany I think. This yarn is a gorgeous 55/45 Merino/baby camel base, dyed in moody dark grey. I have literally no idea what to make with this, I wouldnt normally go for something this bouncy – which is the beauty of this club, helping you try things you wouldn’t normally. One of the TGS girls is contemplating a damask which I think would be lovely in this yarn so maybe a Damask #4 is on the cards.

Totally in love with all these yarns and some fab designers picked by Jo and Kate. If youre interested in finding out more, head over to the TGS website, or come say hi on the Ravelry group. I think sign ups for the next quarter (June) will be open around the 1st April.

Lots of love
Shoe
Xxx